Morocco and Spain Battle Over Who Hosts 2030 World Cup Final

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

Morocco and Spain are embroiled in friction over who gets the bid to host the final game in the 2030 FIFA World Cup competitions.

Both countries were nominated along with Portugal as the joint hosts for the games. However, it remains uncertain which of them will become the venue for the final.

Spain’s Culture and Sports Minister Miquel Iceta said on Thursday on Onda Cero Radio that, he expected it to happen in Spain even though it was too early to jump to conclusions.

President of Morocco’s football federation, Fouzi Lekjaa has also laid claim to his country hosting what he described as a “historic final” in Casablanca.

FIFA unexpectedly announced Morocco, Spain, and Portugal as the host countries for the 2030 World Cup games. Uruguay, Argentina, and Paraguay will also host three matches to mark the games’ centennial milestone.

The announcement came a year earlier than had been anticipated.

Meanwhile, the Argentinian local football federation and government officials are determined to push for more games in addition to the single opening match that has been alloted to them.

Source Agyei Kwarteng Mensah

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Back to top button