Liverpool trio lead PFA nominations

Liverpool's Luis Suarez, Daniel Sturridge and Steven

Gerrard lead the nominations for the PFA Player of

the Year award.

Chelsea's Eden Hazard, Manchester City's Yaya

Toure and Southampton's Adam Lallana complete

the six-man shortlist.

The Reds' trio have led Liverpool's unexpected

charge for the title this season, with Suarez scoring

29 goals in as many Premier League games,

Sturridge grabbing 20 in 26 and captain Gerrard

scoring 10 and assisting a further 13 in 30 league


Hazard has enjoyed his best season to date as a

Chelsea player, helping them to challenge for the

Premier League and make it into the semifinals of

the Champions League, scoring 17 goals in the


Toure has been the figurehead of City's success as

they have won the Capital One Cup and challenged

for the title. The Ivory Coast international has

scored 22 in 45 games in all competitions.

Meanwhile, Sturridge is also named on the shortlist

for the Young Player of the Year alongside

teammate Raheem Sterling. Hazard is another to

receive a second nod.

Everton's Ross Barkley, Southampton's Luke Shaw

and Arsenal midfielder Aaron Ramsey are also

nominated after outstanding seasons for their

respective clubs.

Barkley and Shaw have forced their way into

contention for a possible England call-up ahead of

the World Cup, while Ramsey scored 15 goals prior

to December for Arsenal before having his season cut short by injury.


Kofi Oppong Kyekyeku

I am a Ghanaian Broadcast Journalist/Writer who has an interest in General News, Sports, Entertainment, Health, Lifestyle and many more.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Back to top button