Four Multimedia Group journalists win GJA Awards + Full Winners

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

Joy FM’s Manasseh Azure Awuni, Seth Kwame Boateng, Gifty Appiah Andoh and Beatrice Adu won various awards at the 19th Ghana Journalists Association Awards, Saturday night. The ‘Hotline’ documentary series aired on Joy FM Thursdays, was also honoured at the Awards night which was graced by the Asantehene Otumfuo Osei Tutu II, Dr. Sam Jonah, a former member of the Council of State, past GJA president Gifty Afenyi-Dadzie and the Minister of Communications Dr. Omane Boamah, who represented President John Dramani Mahama. Gifty Andoh Appiah receives her award Manasseh’s anticorruption campaign at the Korle-Bu Teaching Hospital won him the Best Award in Anti-corruption. Similar campaigns by Manasseh have led to ongoing reforms in the Ghana Youth and Employment and Entrepreneurial Development Authority (GYEEDA) and the Savannah Accelerated Development Authority (SADA). However, his three-part documentary series which he filed for the awards did not receive any recognition at the awards ceremony. Seth Kwame Boateng on the other hand won the Best Radio Feature Award with his documentary on "Childlessness" while Beatrice Adu was adjudged the best in Health Reporting with the documentary titled "Sick Hospitals.   Beatrice Adu Manasseh and Seth also won a joint Award as Best Journalists in News Reporting on Radio. Multi TV's Gifty Andoh Appiah also won a joint award as best Environment, Sanitation and Hygiene reporting with Edem Srem, a Freelance journalist. Daily Graphic reporter, Mabel Aku Baneseh was crowned the Journalist of the Year 2013. She also won two awards in Crime/Court Reporting and Political Reporting. Mabel acknowledged her husband for the support while dedicating her award to her editor, Ransford Tetteh. The Komla Dumor Most Promising Journalist of the Year Award was picked by Maxwell Akalaral Adambilla also of the Daily Graphic. The Award is named after late BBC journalist and former host of the Super Morning Show on Joy FM. Other winners on the night were:

Photojournalism Electronics
Mark Sasu – GTV

Photojournalism Print
Samuel Tei Adanu – Daily Guide

TV feature
Narkwor Kwabla (TV3)

News Reporting (TV)
Asante Fordwor – TV3

News Reporting Print
Dzifa Emma Tetteh – Ghanaian Times

Electronic Reporting disability
Kwetey Nartey – TV Africa

Reporting Disability (Print)
Jamina Okaretsire

Science Reporting
Rachel Quartey – GTV

Agric reporting
Soyoko Kyere – GTV

Feature (Print)
Maxwell Adombilla – Daily Graphic

Business Finance and Economics
Kwetey Nartey – TV Africa

Human Rights
Nelson Adanutey – Diamond FM

Investigative journalism
Kwetey Nartey – TV Africa

Seth Dogbey, Kwesi Amprah Twum – Daily Graphic

Moses Aklorbotu – Daily Graphic

Education Reporting (Electronic)
Isabella Owusu Oppong – GTV

Education Reporting (Print)
Kofi Yeboah – Daily Graphic

Rural Reporting
Seth Otoo

Online Journalism
Nana Boakye-Yiadom – Citi FM

Arts and Entertainment
Rebecca Armah – GTV

Water Reporting
Kofi Yeboah

HIV/AIDS reporting
Kwetey Nartey – TV Africa

Crime/Court Reporting
Mabel Aku Baneseh – Graphic

Sports Reporting
John Vigah – Ghanaian Times

Political Reporting
Mabel Aku Baneseh – Graphic

Oil and Gas
Maxwell Akalaral – Graphic

Kofi Oppong Kyekyeku

I am a Ghanaian Broadcast Journalist/Writer who has an interest in General News, Sports, Entertainment, Health, Lifestyle and many more.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Back to top button